top of page

Work group 2

Workgroup 2 was created to focus on the processes taken in order for police to remain accountable in situations of misconduct. They will conduct extensive research on current policies, and look at what other communities are doing that is most successful.

They will also look at the process in place for the community to report misconduct, as well as forms of evaluation to ensure safe and accountable policing


John J. Slattery

John J. Slattery is a retired Fortune 100 Corporate Executive, as well as the Chairman of the Southold Police Advisory Commitee

Robert Knuts

Bob Knuts is a practicing attorney who lives in Greenport. During his legal career, he has both worked for a Federal law enforcement agency and represented individuals accused of crimes. Bob volunteered for the task force to help gather the information and evidence that will provide a solid basis for the reforms that will be recommended by the task force.

Laura Held

Laura Held is a retired attorney and started as a public defender. She clerked for two State Supreme Court judges sitting in the Criminal Term, was a member of the New York State Capital Defender Office and ran an alternative to incarceration for at risk youth.

Liz Gillooly

Liz Gillooly is a US Coast Guard Licensed Captain and owner of Layla Sailing, a charter company based in Greenport. She is an environmentalist, social justice activist and has been a member of the Southold Town community for most of her life. In addition to this task force, Liz is a member of The Suffolk County Sheriff’s Department Community Advisory Board.

Brian O. Mealy

Brian served on the Mattituck-Cutchogue School board from 2016-20. He is the 2018 Helen Wright Prince awardee and currently serves as member of the Suffolk County Sheriff’s Advisory Board as well as the ESBOCES board.  He is proud of his service to local families through education 

Dr. Carolyn Peabody

Dr. Carolyn Peabody is a Licensed Certified Social Worker and a full professor at the School of Social Welfare at Stony Brook University as well as the chair of the Community, Policy, and Political/Social Action Specialization. Carolyn is the co-chair of the North Fork Unity Action Committee and a commissioner on the Human Rights Commission.

bottom of page